Searle on his contemporaries

by JDB

What do you do differently from the everyday person? Do you get up early and read texts by ancient philosophers?

John Searle: I don’t watch television very much … I think it is clear that the media have had an enormous effect on our sensibility. It’s very hard to know what the long-term effect of this is, but I think there’s no question that we’re getting an impoverished sensibility as a result of overexposure to electronic media. I don’t read much philosophy, it upsets me when I read the nonsense written by my contemporaries, the theory of extended mind makes me want to throw up … so mostly I read works of fiction and history. I love reading history books and I love reading works of fiction, there’s just an enormous amount of great stuff written.

The rest of the interview is here. H/T Brian Leiter.